dead rat

March 2010

My friend Alexis sent me a photo of a piece by an artist named Annette Messager, a French artist, who among many other rad things, knits teeny sweaters for dead birds. Having seen some of my dad’s photographs that involve dead mice in hardhats etc., Alexis thought my dad might find it interesting that there was a kindred soul out there, also dressing up dead animals. I sent my dad the photo above with a brief explanation. In return he mailed me the following picture, undoubtedly taken while he was doing a building inspection in the City, with the following message.

ellie

can u have annette make me a nice suit (36 medium) something in a light plaid and not to tight around the waist

thanks

dad

Leave a Reply

